Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Season 2 Episode 15: Cooler

While the taffy pull line was okay I think the concept of anyone talking about such activities to their friends is unbelievable. Masturbation is only to be discussed jokingly or as a means to mock another person through words or gesture.

I also am tired of the concept of guys having some sort of game to get ladies. I'm old and married so maybe I'm out of touch but do people actually go out and act differently in hopes of "hooking up" (as the kids say)? Maybe I can understand not going out in a huge group or something if you are trying to meet someone new. I guess people do meet people in bars sometimes - Naomi I know you are reading this. Still after a recent marathon watching of HIMYM I find the concept of guys "game" to be weird and too sitcomy. Also HIMYM is remarkably misogynistic once you get by the sillyness and shitty laugh track. They think they make up for it by making Ted Mosby "sensitive" but hes as big a jackass as Barney he just isn't as honest about it.

Why would anyone want to go to a club, I would actually rather clean out my closet.

Oh man zany Jess at home alone.... I hate you New Girl. Also is Cece Jess' only friend other than her roommates  She just met her roommates at the beginning of the first season, what has she done for the previous 30 years of her life? Jess and Cece have nothing in common really, wouldn't Jess have teacher friends or a crafting group or something?

Nick still has a flip phone? Oh yeah there was an episode about that right? Why would that woman still be talking to them.

So the married lady came back to their apartment? I would not be cool with that if I was her husband. Call me overprotective but I don't like it when the wife picks dudes up in bars and goes back to their place.

Oh fuck True Americans. I still don't like it, do you hear me I DON'T LIKE IT!

How am I only 8 minutes into this episode? I really want Nick to take off that jacket.

True Americans seems even dumber and more inscrutable this time, Naomi I know you are still reading this.

That lady better turn out not to be married.

I hope this isn't the eventual Nick and Jess hookup that ruins this show. It seems like they probably aren't going for that, but it could happen. Actually if they kiss here and it's horrible and awkward I think it prevents or at least delays the eventual shark jumping. They could be going for something big though for the mid-season break though so this could turn out bad. Maybe Ill just unpause and find out.

This lady sucks.

That's right she isn't married, as I thought.

I like that twist, David Walton should make them kiss, best thing in this pretty crappy episode so far. I feel like they brought back True Americans as a cheap way to brighten up this one. It hasn't been a good three week run for New Girl, although this plot is better than Nick's con man father or Jess' student is a serial killer.

Oh shit, that was worse than them actually kissing. Oh so awkward.... Its like a knife twisting in my soul. It hasn't hurt like this since the Wonder Years.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! That was as bad as it could have been.

The frowny face on the melon was funny though.

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Season 2 Episode 14: Pepperwood

Another week another New Girl.

I fully support the creation of the annoyance bowl. Its a nice way to remind me Jess is annoying to others not just me.
I feel like the freak out over Cece accidentally bumping into Winston and his dick was a little overdone. They aren't teenagers.

I saw this murderer plot in the previews for this week - while watching The Following which takes a decidedly less madcap and whimsical approach to covering the topic of serial killers by the way. I don't know about this plot though, seems like a bit of a reach. New Girl is about the overstating of mundane problems. Much like last week this seems too much like an Always Sunny episode. "This week on Always Sunny: there's a murderer in Dee's acting class which Dennis decides to investigate. Charlie gets mad at Mac for accidentally poking the waitress with his dick...". I think a show shouldn't stray too far from their core competencies.

I'm okay with the direction they are taking the "Pogo" plot. Everyone has insecurities about people talking behind their back. I got my eye on you jerks.

Im not a fan of accents. There hasn't been a funny Chicago accent since the Da Bulls sketch. RIP Chris Farley, have some class New Girl.

Haven't seen Nate Corddry in a while apparently because I don't watch United States of Tara or Children's Hospital (which reminds me to watch Children's Hospital).

You know I saw the Schmidt eyebrow thing in the commercial too but it still made me laugh. He really sold it with the smile. Of all the strange things about Schmidt toenails wouldn't be the thing people talk about all the time. Worrying about Nick works though.

I don't really have any comments on the end of the episode, it was fine for what it was. I hope they get back to what is good about this show next week though.


Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Season 2 Episode 13 - A Father's Love

First and aside - Actually Fox I do believe what I have been missing on Glee, and I will keep on missing it. Hulu has the worst ads.

When the New Girl gang played True Americans I made my feelings on the matter known, however now they are playing a very reasonable and easily understandable game and I am let down, I'm sorry I am so fickle. Feeley cup looks kind of fun, although like a kids summer camp game. On TV though if people are drinking beer its adult and they are getting wasted, so I guess that makes it adult.

They better tell me whats in that cup... I feel like I could tell duct tape.

I don't like Jess talking in old timey talk, its annoying. Im glad it ended fast.

Dennis Farina is looking pretty old. I think older celebrities should put on a little weight to fill out their wrinkles. When they get really skinny they look like an empty bag of their former self. Im looking at you Al Sharpton.

Dennis Farina is going to hit on Jess? That's what I'm predicting, and then she will flirt with him back, but eventually get grossed out. Maybe not though, hes being all sincere now.

I don't really feel the need to comment on Schmidt dialog anymore unless its something outstanding or noteworthy. I'm not saying its bad, but it is what it is, its funny and people like it but its all pretty similar. This was pretty average.

Im not sure I would have made Nick's father a con man. I would think Nick would have more drive to be something more than his father was if he had a dad like that. I would have assumed that Nick's family was very successful and thus his lazy life is a rejection of that. Although this way we get a scene at the track, so that's okay.

I think Schmidt stalking Cece is pretty lame, but its funny Robbie is there. A little too "Something About Mary" but a little twist on a predictable plot.

I hope they do a good job of explaining why Dennis Farina needs Jess for some con, because right now it seems a little thin.

Okay there's a good line of Schimdt dialog "I suddenly feel an empathy for Pakistan"

Since Jess has no money how is she investing in a horse? Again, a little thin.

Okay I also laughed at "Monsoon Bedding".

I'm not overwhelmed with this episode overall, while there have been a couple nice moments I find the Dennis Farina as a con man sucking the gang into things plot line to be way too out there. This feels like somebody was writing a script for Always Sunny but couldn't make it funny enough so re-wrote it for New Girl. They didn't even bother to change the name of the old guy to something other than Frank. I feel like the Schmidt and Robbie sub plot was written for Mac and Dennis, thus there had to be two of them.

I did like that the Russian guys just busted out with the Russian song, isn't that from Tetris?

The touching ending isn't helping by the way. This should have ended in the parking lot, these scenes are painful. This really didn't require the Very Special Episode ending.







Wednesday, January 9, 2013

S2 Ep 12 Cabin


New Year New Girl

A couple weeks off and a new year may have dulled my enthusiasm for reviewing New Girl. Plus this episode has had nothing noteworthy so far.

Gross I didn’t want to see Nick’s armpit.

Sleeping on a bear rug sounds a lot better than it actually is I would assume. Bears are not made of tempurpedic foam and seem like their hair is pretty scratchy. Sleeping on a kitten skin pillow seems way better.

I don’t know if I want to watch Schmidt do uncomfortable racism stuff, they better do this in a new and creative way. They did this awkward plot with Max and Brad on Happy Endings too recently for me to watch it again. So far they are doing okay though. They have a good out when they set up a crappy sitcom situation they can flip it and make it a way for one of the others to mess with Schmidt.

That’s not a rifle it’s a shotgun. Continuity! I'm not sure I like someone playing along with Jess needing the can to have a back story. They have wisely gotten away from some of that crappy writing of Jess’s personality.  I'm guessing what happens next is either Jess is amazingly good at shooting, or Jess accidentally hits a bird/small mammal and is traumatized, or Jess accidentally shoots Nick or David Walton, or on an outside chance Olivia Munn, whichever though Olivia Munn thinks its awesome making Nick question their relationship.

Oh man when she pulled back like that I thought for sure she was going to hit a bird, my personal favorite prediction, a power transformer was a good twist.

I really thought this plot was going to go the other way when Olivia Munn pulled out the guns, that Nick would realize she is too wild for him, but it seems like Jess is the stick in the mud and David Walton wants to be more wild. They could still be setting this up for a hookup between David Walton and Olivia Munn, thus ending both guests’ run on the show, which would make sense I guess.

I have never had absinthe. I am 34, it probably isn’t going to happen.

Ribs are delicious regardless of race. I don’t know about Crack.
Glad to see I'm totally right on this call. I think they are being pretty critical of crazy strippers saying they want to switch partners. Just kidding I think they are being totally fair, some things are true.

Ha ha Perfect Couples was the show David Walton used to be on, see how that was funny and stuff. Maybe that’s just me.

This Schmidt and Winston subplot makes me want frozen yogurt.

“Crakakain” made me laugh a little. So did drunk Nick and the olive.

Now I really want frozen yogurt.

I have to commend New Girl on its ability to go to a really cheesy sitcom place and then pull it back to normal and still make it at least somewhat funny. People don’t usually talk honestly in sitcoms and so many plots are fueled by jumping to conclusions and not explaining things rationally. New Girl can kind of do both. Even though it means I was wrong about David Walton and Olivia Munn hooking up and both leaving the show. One for two isnt bad though.

Welcome

Welcome to my completely pointless reviews of New Girl. If you are on this blog you probably already know that I used to write these reviews on facebook but I decided to move them here to limit how wierd I look to all the people I know.